Get Out of Bed

And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.

Ephesians 2:9

I take really long showers. It’s not because I think a lot in the shower or take a lot of time to get clean, but because I hate being cold. Every morning I spend an extra 5 to 10 minutes just standing under the hot water dreading how cold I know I’ll be the second I shut the water off. As soon as I turn off the water I dry off, wrap myself up in my towel, and hurry back to my room where I promptly huddle under several blankets to warm up. When I’m in the bed comfy and warm after a shower it’s really hard to get up and get out of bed and go to class. If it’s that hard for me to get out of bed and go to class I can’t even imagine how hard it would be to give up a position in heaven to come be a servant on Earth– but that’s exactly what Jesus did. Jesus humbled himself enough to leave heaven, a place of absolute perfection, to come be on Earth. And he didn’t just come live on Earth, he came and served and lived in obedience, even when that meant dying on a cross. His love for us must be unimaginable for him to give up being in heaven with the Father to come to this lowly Earth and live a life of humility and obedience.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

