Airplane

But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.

Matthew 6:20

The other day I was flying home from college when a really odd thought crossed my mind. On my connecting flight from Atlanta, Georgia to Greensboro, North Carolina it seemed to me that pilot took an extra aggressive takeoff. It sort of felt the same as when a teenager is driving for the first time and doesn’t know how hard to step on the gas. I mean we really took off quick. As we were taking off my leg was against the side of the plane since I had a window seat and I felt the plane’s side vibrate, and I thought wow this plane could really just fall apart at any time. As I looked out the window I realized that my life could legitimately end at any point during that flight. Now obviously the plane was safe and my life wasn’t really in danger, but just the smallest of hiccups on the plane take off made me think about how quickly any of our lives could end. I’m just as guilty of anybody at getting caught up in temporary things. Nothing in this world is as important as the things of God because everything is this world will pass away someday. Like C.S. Lewis says: If we as Christians spent more time thinking about the next life we’d be a lot more effective in this one. Let’s not get caught up in things that won’t last forever when we could focus on something eternal.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

