Lil Dribblers

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;

   my soul thirsts for you;

my flesh faints for you,

   as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.

Psalm 63:1

This past fall I got the opportunity to “coach” 5 and 6-year-olds playing soccer in the town I go to college in a league called the “Lil Dribblers.” I would use the term “coaching” loosely, because “coaching” kids that age is really just another word for herding. Responsibilities routinely consisted of being a jungle gym for the kids not playing to climb on, or target for kids to kick a ball at for fun. I wouldn’t trade the time I got to spend with those kids for the world, it was amazing. When I think back to it one thing I remember is how the games looked. It didn’t look much like a soccer game many times. While the kids certainly had fun, every game had the same look: one ball traveling around with 8-10 kids trailing it in a herd. It was incredibly entertaining to watch how the kids all chased the ball together no matter where it went. While this isn’t the best strategy for soccer, it’s a great strategy for our Christian walk. In this Psalm, David explains that God is all he is chasing after and that God is the only thing that satisfies and sustains him. God is so great that he should be our only focus. We don’t need to look around to see where everyone else is at or listen to what everyone else always has to say. All we have to do is pretend we’re the five-year-olds and God is the ball and chase after him and only him.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

