Blessed be the name of the LORD

Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head and fell on the ground and worshiped. And he said “Naked I came from my mother’s womb and naked shall I return. The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.”

Job 1:20-21

Since I’m away from home for college now I’ve had to find a new church to attend while I’m away. My friends and I tried several churches but couldn’t really find one that we felt challenged us until we came on to the church we attend now. We heard the pastor speak at chapel at our school and decided that we absolutely needed to go check out his church. It’s a small church of maybe 50 people, but the way they praise the Lord has already challenged me more than I could have ever expected. Just the other week they lost a young man from the congregation who was in his twenties. I could feel the sorrow in the sanctuary when I walked in. The pastor got up and explained what was going on in the church to everyone there who may not have known, and then as a church, we entered into a time of giving testimony. The first lady who had the microphone began to sing through tears that she would forever praise Jesus no matter what. Before long the whole church spontaneously joined in song to sing that they would never stop praising Jesus. In the midst of tragedy, the people of our church continued to praise God. In the same way, Job’s first reaction to hearing that he had lost all his possessions and that all his kids were dead was to praise God. Job knew God’s goodness isn’t affected by circumstances. No matter what: God is good, so when (not if) tragedies come our way– big or small– we can always say “blessed be the name of the LORD!”

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

