Lost on the Bike Trail

And the LORD went before them by day in a pillar of cloud to lead them along the way, and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, that they might travel by day and by night.

Exodus 13:21

A few years ago my dad and I went on a Saturday biking trip. We drove out to a state park with a cool biking trail and spent the day biking around. We were having a blast when I decided I was going to go on ahead just a little bit. I told my dad I was just going to see what was over the hill while he rested and that I’d wait for him. I biked on ahead enjoying the trees and scenery whizzing by me as I flew down the trail. Eventually, I realized I had been riding for a quite a while and stopped to look back for my dad. When I looked over my shoulder he was nowhere to be found. Somehow when I was on my own I had veered off the trail and had no clue where I was. Without my dad’s guidance I had gotten severely lost, and in fact had trouble even finding him again. When the Israelites were lost in the wilderness God led them day and night. We may not have a pillar of fire or cloud ahead of us showing us where to go all the time, but if we are Christians we are led by the Holy Spirit, and God’s word. God’s instructions for us aren’t restrictive but are His way of keeping us on the path he has planned for us. We can’t do any better going off on our own. Look on God’s leading and instruction as a blessing to keep us in line with his will instead of oppressive decrees today.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

