Fetch

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

1 Corinthians 10:31

I haven’t told a story about either of my dogs in any of these devotionals yet, which is incredibly unbelievable. It’s probably about time to end that streak. I have a black lab back home named Raven that my family and I adopted from the pound when she was 6 months old. I love her to pieces; in fact I probably spend more time with her than with most of my friends. She loves to run and go for walks, but more than anything she loves for me to go out to backyard and throw a tennis ball or stick or anything she can chase down and bring back. I don’t know a ton about dogs, but I do know that dogs like her were bred specifically to chase things and bring them back. Her long legs make it so she can run long distances, her webbed feet make it so she can fetch objects that fall in the water (if she wasn’t scared to death of water) and her expert control of her jaws make it so she can carry a delicate package back to her master. Raven is happiest when we play fetch, because that’s exactly what she was made to do. The same principle applies to you and me. As we learn more about God we learn that he first and foremost created us to glorify Himself. True pleasure isn’t found in the world or somewhere hiding deep within ourselves, but found in glorifying God. We’re happiest when we do what God made us to do, which is praise and glorify Him.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

