I Promise!

5 The Lord set a time and said, “Tomorrow the Lord will do this in the land.” 6 And the next day the Lord did it:

Exodus 9:5-6

 

“I promise!” I exclaimed. A good friend of mine had just told me an extremely confidential secret. We were in second grade and my best friend had just told me the girl he “liked.” In second grade that’s a secret to be guarded with more diligence than Fort Knox. I held to my promise– for a little bit, but before you know it I was talking to another friend and the secret I had promised and promised would never come out of my mouth slipped out. We’ve all been there: made some type of promise and broken it, or had a friend adamantly swear they would or wouldn’t do something only to have whatever was agreed on severed. People are imperfect and continuously make mistakes, but The Lord is faithful to his promises. He always has been and he always will be, even when how he lives up to his word isn’t how we would expect it. In this passage what God promised the Israelites that the next day he was going to kill the livestock of the Egyptians, and the next day he did exactly as he said. God doesn’t always give us a timetable on his promises like he did in this situation for the Israelites. Sometimes his promises of faithfulness and love and peace come in ways we wouldn’t choose, or take much longer for us to see than we would want. However, if we knew what God knew and could see what he sees we would make the exact same choices as Him. Rest in the fact that Lord has always been faithful and will continue to be faithful in your life.

One thought on “I Promise!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

