Roller Coaster

28I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them out of My hand. 29 My Father who has given them to Me is greater than all. No one can snatch them out of My Father’s hand.

Matthew 10:28-29

I haven’t had too many experiences in my life where I have legitimately thought my life was about to end, but I’m absolutely terrified of heights so this past summer at King’s Dominion amusement park I had one of those moments. Some friends and I decided to make a trip to King’s Dominion near the end of last summer and had a blast. Somehow or another we ended up in line for a ride that would be best described as a swinging pendulum of death. The ride swung from left to right getting higher and higher all the while spinning its riders in a circle. As we approached the ride my palms began to sweat and my heart rate slowly climbed to a rate close to that of a young rabbit. As the ride got higher and higher my screams got higher and louder. My screams were not happy screams of enjoyment but screams of absolute terror. Even though I was clearly strapped in safe and sound to the seat, in my mind my life was legitimately in danger. I was terrified. This fear soon passed as the ride subsided, but many of us have long lasting and deep seated fears that seem like they just won’t diminish. We may fear failure, or the future, or friendlessness, but whatever our fears are we can rest assured that we are held in the hand of an all powerful God. He is greater than all and He promises to hold us. I can’t think of anything more comforting than that.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

