On Thin Ice

Everyone then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house but it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock.

Matthew 7:24-25

I’m originally from North Carolina, but I go to school in Ohio, and apparently it gets cold enough here to freeze ponds and lakes. This whole thing is completely foreign to me and I have no clue how it works. So, the other day somehow it was 60 degrees but the lake at my college was still frozen (sort of). It looked thick enough to hold me and my foot didn’t go straight through when I put some weight on it so I figured it must be safe. I (mistakenly) trusted my friends who were from up north when they told me it would hold me if I sat down instead of standing up; it made sense to me. So I tried it. It took about a half a second for my keister to punch through the ice and get soaked by the frigid water. The ice just wasn’t strong enough to hold me up. So many times we try and build our lives on ice that’s just too thin. Power, money, prestige, feeling good and anything else that isn’t Jesus Christ just isn’t a strong enough foundation to build our lives on. If we put all the weight of our life on something too thin it will surely break. The only thing in the universe strong enough to hold up our lives is Jesus Christ, and nothing else deserves to be our foundation.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

